Entertainment
Leave a Comment

Stephen Colbert’s Heartfelt Letter To Glamour

Whenever I come across something incredibly noteworthy, I get a little excited. Scratch that, I get extremely excited. As you know, I’m a huge advocate for woman’s rights. Being a woman myself, I feel it important to stand up for the rights which involve them. When I came across a certain article in Glamour, written by comedian and fellow Washingtonian, Stephen Colbert, I began hyperventilating.

Well-not really- just slightly.

The article reads like a heartfelt love letter to all woman. If you haven’t already heard, Colbert will be taking David Letterman’s place come September and the essay explains why he’s just the man for the job. In the letter, Colbert explained how he feels that there is a lack of diversity in the late-night television community.

“While there are many talented female comedians out there, right now the world of late-night is a bit of a sausagefest. Perhaps one day it will be just the opposite—which I believe is called a Georgia O’Keeffe retrospective” he wrote.

Oh, it gets better!

Colbert also went on to explain how, not only are there not enough roles for women in late-night, but there aren’t enough roles for women in general.

“And mine is not the only field that lacks enough women. Where are all the lady blacksmiths? What about the bait-and-tackle shopkeepers, pool maintenance professionals, building superintendents, or CEOs of Fortune 500 companies? Why are all those minions shaped like tiny phalluses? Why did Mad Max get top billing in Fury Road when he was essentially just a grunting tripod for Charlize Theron’s rifle? Of course, historically, our thriving U.S. president industry definitely skews male—but that could change in 2016. Carly Fiorina, all eyes are on you”

How Stephen, how right you are. Not only is this a discussion which has been reoccurring for years, it’s also an issue which has yet to be addressed. Sure, there are numerous organizations which support gender equality but what is actually being done? Although we are now in a day and age where a woman can run for president, it seems as though the issue is still very much unresolved.

As much as I would like to quote the entire letter, (I’ve literally read it five times), it’s probably best if you read it for yourself. The truth is, we can all sit around and discuss the situation at hand until our voices become hoarse. Until the world decides to evolve from the bigoted narratives which overrule their thoughts, I’ll keep fighting the fight.

I’m going to do my best to create a Late Show that not only appeals to women but also celebrates their voices. These days TV would have you believe that being a woman means sensually eating yogurt, looking for ways to feel confident on heavy days, and hunting for houses. But I’m going to make a show that truly respects women, because I know that there’s more than one way to be one” 

Well said, Colbert. September 8th couldn’t come any sooner.

Stephen Colbert's Heartfelt Letter To Glamour

This entry was posted in: Entertainment
Tagged with:

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

