Culture
Leave a Comment

Taylor Swift Channels Old School Glamour on Vanity Fair’s September Cover

I’m a fan of many things. However, there aren’t many which can cause me to hyperventilate with excitement. I save those particular fancies for a very special list. I like to refer to this list as “My Hyperventilation List”. Clever right? Among this list are retro bicycles, strawberry cupcakes, structured handbags, and Taylor Swift. So it’s only appropriate that  literally lost my nerve with adoration when I glimpsed at Taylor’s cover for the September issue of Vanity Fair.

Tay Tay-as I like to refer to her-has become one to watch in the fashion industry. What with her vintage-meets-modern ensembles. She kills it on every red carpet she walks and provokes envy from her stellar street style. For her cover shoot with Vanity Fair, shot by legendary photographer Mario Testino, Swift channeled a lightly different look. Donning elegant gowns along with chunks of gold jewelry, Swift appeared like something out of a chic 70’s flick. The image of Michelle Pfeiffer in Scarface comes to mind.

But perhaps that’s one of Swift’s major gifts. Hah, it rhymes! She has the ability to immerse herself within a specific atmosphere and get away with appearing like a native. This is very much the case with her shift in genre of music. Just last October, Swift released her fifth album with a complete new sound bordering synth pop. A vast change from her country roots. But if anyone can alter their look without a blink of an eye, Swift’s your girl.

What are you thoughts on Taylor’s cover look?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos: Vanity Fair

This entry was posted in: Culture
Tagged with:

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

