Health, Recipes, The Latest
Leave a Comment

Acorn Squash and Kale Over Penne

If you’re a regular reader of The Gaiety Girl, then you would know I’m a huge foodie. Although I consider myself a part-time vegetarian, I honestly have no preference when it comes to food. Just as long as it’s healthy and low-cal, I’ll devour it. Whenever I come across a delicious recipe which meets that particular criteria, I get a little excited. With that being said, you could imagine my absolute elation when I stumbled upon a certain recipe while scouring Health.com. Don’t be fooled, I’m not as healthy as I’d like to think I am. Acorn Squash and Kale Over Penne, is the recipe, and allow me to inform you that it is indeed delicious.

I come from a long Italian lineage, from my mothers side, and anything involving pasta is okay in my book. It’s such a versatile dish which can be incorporated with just about anything. The recipe is listed below, curtsey of Health.com, so please feel free to try it out and tell me what you think.

Enjoy!

Ingredients

6 cups (1-inch) cubed peeled acorn squash (about 2 medium squash)
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
8 cups (about 5 ounces) coarsely chopped trimmed kale
1 cup organic vegetable broth
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg
4 cups hot cooked penne
2/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions 

1. Place squash in a casserole dish with 1/4 cup water. Cover with plastic wrap. Microwave 7 minutes on HIGH or until tender.

2. Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add garlic; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add kale and broth; cover. Cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Uncover; cook 1 minute. Stir in the salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Stir in squash and pasta, tossing gently. Sprinkle with cheese.

This entry was posted in: Health, Recipes, The Latest
Tagged with: , ,

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

