Culture, The Latest
Leave a Comment

“Downton Abbey” Ending After Sixth Season

I enjoy a juicy periodical television series on occasion. In fact, might one say I’m rather obsessed with anything relating to the 20’s. Hence, the title of this fabulous website. If you’re unaware of what a “Gaiety Girl” actually is, allow me to fill you in. “Gaiety Girls” were a group of chorus performers during the 20’s, who exuded confidence, style, and independence. They were referred to as the “It-Girls” of the 20th century.

Now, that you’re all caught up, let us proceed with the sole purpose of this post. Regarding my complete devotion for anything relating to the 20’s, it came as no surprise, when, like many other individuals; I ended up falling in love with the television series, Downton Abbey. If you’re not familiar with the show, what is wrong with you? Kidding, of course. I’m sure you have a perfectly reasonable explanation why you’re not fan, probably watching Keeping Up WithThe Kardashians instead.

But I won’t judge you.

Anywho, the British television series, which airs on PBS on ITV, follows the lives of the Crawley family and its servants, and takes place in a stellar estate during the early 1900’s. There are plots and twists around every corner in the oversized Georgian estate. Just think of it as a cross between Gossip Girl and Upstairs/Downstairs. In short terms, it’s a freaking awesome show.

Downtown Abbey Ending After Sixth Season

But alas, everything must come to and end, at some point or another. Earlier on Tuesday, it was announced that the beloved show will come to a close at the end of it’s sixth season. Cue the angry sobs. Apparently, PBS will not be renewing the cast members contracts after the sixth season wraps, due to ratings being quite low during it’s fifth. Jeez, how will I possibly go on without my weekly dose of white gloves, dinner parties, and Maggie Smith?

Looks like I’ll have to find a new show to cling onto. Any suggestions folks?

This entry was posted in: Culture, The Latest
Tagged with: ,

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

