Culture, Trending
Leave a Comment

Jessica Lange Says Goodbye to “American Horror Story”

If you’ve like me, and watched each season of the disturbing, yet highly entertaining television series, American Horror Story, then you’re extremely familiar with the legend that is Jessica Lange. On the show, the  talented actress has been a murderous housewife, a tough-as-nails nun, a sassy witch, and a Russian circus performer; with an unhealthy ambition for fame. Acting as a supporting character, it was evident from the very first episode that Lange was the leading lady, stealing every scene with her witty remarks and comments.

When the fourth season wrapped, and it was announced there would be a fifth, American Horror Story: Hotel, I was beyond ecstatic. I simply couldn’t wait to discover which bad ass character Lange would get assigned to play next. However, shortly after the fifth season was announced, it was followed with the news that veteran actress, Jessica Lange would not be returning. You could imagine my absolute disappointment.

“I’m done,” Lange announced at PaleyFest on Sunday.

Jessica Lange Leaving American Horror Story

“We’ve had a great run here. I have absolutely loved doing these four characters that I’ve had the opportunity to play, and in all madness, I love the writers and Ryan and the insanity of shooting it. I’ve done four great characters.” Lange added

It is unclear if former cast members such as Sarah Paulson, Emma Roberts, Evan Peters, Kathy Bates, and Angela Basset will return. However, it as announced that Lady Gaga, Matt Bomer and 30 Rock’s Cheyenne Jackson would be starring in the new season. But the surprising news does spark an interesting question. What will the future of American Horror Story hold in-store without the show’s heading lady?

I guess we’ll have to wait until October to find out.

This entry was posted in: Culture, Trending
Tagged with: ,

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

