Entertainment
Leave a Comment

Where Have All the Great Heroines Gone?

A couple night’s ago, while looking for a literary distraction within iBooks, I came across a discovery. It appeared that most of the New Times Bestselling novels contained an erotica-themed plot; pertaining to a world infused with bondage and submission. The same thing went for every book over in the romance department, leaving me amazed at what passes for literature these days. Now, I’m not going to lie; I’ve read 50 Shades of Grey. But my curiosity ceased with the first novel, and never exceeded anywhere beyond. Since we’re on the subject, I’ll admit that I found the novel somewhat engaging. But, to be fair, I also find bubblewrap interesting, so my judgement on intrigue is slightly muddled. Unlike the percentage of the female race, the idea of a virginal college student, being thrown into the unusual world of BDSM, didn’t ignite my imagination whatsoever. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy intimate pleasure just as much as the next human being, but I found the overall story unrealistic and uninspired. This left me with a gnawing sensation at the back of my head, which was no doubt the cultivation of an oncoming migraine. What ever happened to heroines with independence and initiative? From the looks of it, they’re too busy being tied up and slapped around. Which leaves me to wonder, have all the great heroines of the past disappeared for good? It also leaves me guessing if books such as 50 Shades are the new genre of romance literature. I like my heroines strong and determined. I want to feel empowered after reading a novel, not dejected. Although, many who’ve read 50 Shades would argue that Anastasia Steele, (the mousy, lead character); does contain those qualities. However, when a woman allows herself to be violated and humiliated repeatedly, all for the for sake of pleasing the man she loves, that’s not considered powerful. It’s downright weak. But I won’t sit here and list all the reasons why I didn’t enjoy the book. Trust me, there are enough unpelasant reviews out there as it is. If you want a real heroine, with qualities worthy of woman today; look no further than the list below. It might just leave you wanting a refund on every erotica-based novel you’ve purchased. 1. Jane Eyre, Jane Eyre-Charlotte BronteJane Eyre 2. Lizbeth Salander, Girl With The Dragon Tattoo Trilogy-Stieg LarssonLizbeth Salander 3. Jo March, Little Women-Louisa May Alcott Jo March 4. Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice-Jane AustenElizabeth Bennet 5. Karen Blixen, Out of Africa-Karen BlixenKaren Blixen 6. Cassandra Mortmain, I Capture the Castle-Dodie Smith Cassandra Mortmain 7. Hermione Granger, Harry Potter Series-J.K Rowling Hermione Granger 8. Katniss Everdeen, Hunger Games Trilogy-Suzanne Collins Katniss Everdeen 9. Scarlett O’Hara, Gone With the Wind-Margaret Mitchell Scarlett O'Hara 10. Becky Sharp, Vanity Fair-William Makepeace ThackeryBecky Sharp

This entry was posted in: Entertainment
Tagged with:

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

