Fashion Week
Leave a Comment

Simone Rocha Fall 2015 RTW

Usually, I’m not a fan of anything which resembles frilly. The mere thought of ruffles is enough to make me cringe with absolute detest. There was a time when I preferred barbies to books and favorited the color pink above any other hue. However, the moment I turned sixteen, that all changed. I turned in my kitten heels for Doc Martins, and traded in my floral dresses for concert tee’s instead.

Now that I’m slightly older, I’m not as opposed to the idea of dressing femininely as I was when I was sixteen. In fact, thanks to Simone Rocha, I’m beginning to rethink the whole idea. It was her Spring 2013 RTW collection which had me reconsidering my overall hesitancy for all things frilly and girly. Rocha is no stranger for accumulating a collection specifically featuring a feminine aesthetic, along with sheer detailing and a soft color palette. That, however, was not the case this time around.

The designer appeared to have ditched her usual, quirky, yet practical, aesthetic; and opted for something somewhat darker for her Fall 2015 RTW collection. The first part of Rocha’s show was nearly all black, featuring midriff-baring black dress, crafted entirely from velvet. Brocade was introduced somewhere mid-show, being featured on capes and asymmetrical shift dresses. Padded, petal-infused, 3-D shapes played a part throughout the collection, as did kitschy roses and checkered prints. It was an unusual collection, but, nevertheless; entertaining as hell.

Rocha wouldn’t have had it any other way.

This entry was posted in: Fashion Week

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

