Fashion2015
Leave a Comment

The Evolution of “Normcore”

NormcoreNoun: The art of dressing informal and making it look chic

I love trying out new things. Whether it’s food, beauty, or fashion; I’m a fanatic when it comes to trends. When the pixie was first introduced, I went straight to my salon and chopped off all my hair. Unfortunately, it wasn’t until my hair was all gone that I realized it wasn’t the best look on me. Then there’s the beloved cronut.

When that delicious invention bursted onto the scene, I headed to the nearest bakery to try one out. Now, that was a trend I highly enjoyed. Long story short, I’ll try anything on once for size. One trend which seems to have me more excited than usual is the extremely comfortable evolution that is “Normcore”. For all of you none fashionista’s, that’s when one dresses in loose-fitting clothing, (i.e sneakers, sweaters, sweats), pairing it with high-end pieces; somehow making it look chic.

The reason for my sudden elation is because I value comfort above anything else. I have an extremely hectic schedule, so feeling comfy is an absolute necessity for me. But in the past, looking stylish and comfy was a combination that never seemed to mesh well together. Thanks to the trend that is “Normcore”, that happens to be a thing of the past. Everyone from models to celebrities are getting in on this trend, and for good reason. With the fashion world constantly changing, it’s nice to know that 5 inch heels are no longer required.

Sneakers anyone?

This entry was posted in: Fashion2015

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

