Fashion, Runway
Leave a Comment

Phillip Lim Madness

There were many incredible collections to come out of NYFW this year. I mean who could forget that beautiful scene over at Oscar de la Renta? Talk about genius, the man can do no wrong. So, if you asked me to choose one particular show, which I valued above all the others, you would be wise to call me insane. Seeing how no sane human being could simply pick one. But despite the fact that there was something in every show which I enjoyed, there was one which I enjoyed a little more than the others. The talented creations of Mr. Phillip Lim.

It seems that every year Mr. Lim unveils a new collection, I’m consistently raving about how amazing it was. This is because the man is simply infused with talent. Talent which is untouchable by any other. This year, every piece which was featured in Lim’s SS15 collection appeared to be specifically designed with me in mind. Seriously, it was like the designer personally called me up and asked what I wanted in a spring/summer collection and then went to work. With a unique combination of soft and bold hues, including pastel yellow, emerald, black, cobalt and white; Lim concocted one of the most original contradictions to date.

Easy and modern would be the perfect words to describe the entire collection. There were plenty of asymmetrical pieces paired with tailored pieces, once again creating a beautiful form of incongruity. My favorite look in the entire collection came in the form of an asymmetrical dress paired with a leather, motorcycle vest, finished with emerald ankle booties and a crossbody satchel. I could totally see myself waltzing into my office donning the look, while having all my co-workers marvel in jealousy. But gleaming at every piece in Lim’s collection, it’s easy to become ridden with envy merely because of the designers’ immense talent. Once again, he’s created yet another impeccable collection without any doses of inadequacy.

This entry was posted in: Fashion, Runway

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

