Fashion
Leave a Comment

NYFW Designer Spotlight: Opening Ceremony

I’m such a huge fan of edgy/sophisticated clothing. I love the unexpected  feel the two bring to an ensemble. One brand that never fails to incorporate that particular mixture into a collection is Open Ceremony. Head designers, Carol Lim and Humberto Leon always seem to understand that women want a little more to their clothing other than frill and lace. I use to be the sort of gal that went around wearing the color pink for two years straight. I was a fan of pretty clothing, plain and simple.

NYFW Spotlight: Opening CeremonyNYFW Spotlight: Opening CeremonyNYFW Spotlight: Opening Ceremony

As I’ve gotten older, I appear to have developed a love for edgy clothing with an androgynous feel; thus abandoning my love the color pink all together. This year at NYFW, Carol and Humberto debut their 2014 Pre-Fall collection and it was everything I had hoped it would be, edge and all .Models strolled down the runway showcasing vasts amounts of leather paired and playful knits.Knee-high boots were paired with mid-length skirts and array of asymmetrical silhouettes were apparent as well. It was a collection one such as myself would be honored to wear on a day-to-day basis.

NYFW Spotlight: Open Ceremony NYFW Spotlight: Opening CeremonyNYFW Spotlight: Opening Ceremony

 

Apart from edge and sophistication, I also adore prints, and this collection had plenty to offer.Carol and Humberto never cease to please which is why the brand continues to be one of my all-time favorites.

 

This entry was posted in: Fashion

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

