Beauty
Leave a Comment

Hair Crazed: The “Pixie” Cut

Hair Crazed: The "Pixie" Cut Hair Crazed: The "Pixie" Cut Hair Crazed: The "Pixie" Cut

Hairstyles come and go. But every once and awhile there comes a certain style that stands the test of time, generating a ton of attention and leaving us rendering in our tracks. One particular hairstyle that appears to be producing quite an uproar is none other than the beloved “Pixie” Cut. A-list celebrities such as Charlize Theron, Michelle Williams, Jennifer Goodwin, and even Jennifer Lawrence have all been spotted donning the iconic hairstyle. The actual style dates back to the 60’s when legendary hairstylist, Vidal Sassoon, chopped off actress, Mia Farrow’s, blonde locks for her role in Rosemary’s Baby.

Since then, the renowned hairstyle has grown quite popular with models and Hollywood’s finest over the years. Not too long ago, I actually tried out the look myself. A year and a half ago, after glancing at a picture of iconic model Twiggy; I decided that I wanted to try out a similar haircut. So I waltzed into my hairdresser’s studio the very next day and had her chop off 7 inches of my light-brown hair. Now I’ve always had long hair throughout my life, and it hardly ever altered past the occasionally monthly trim. But I was feeling adventurous and decided that it was time I change that.

At first I loved my new hairstyle but after while; I began missing my long tresses. Finally, after waiting impatiently for my hair to grow back, I can gladly say it is somewhat back to it’s usual length. It’s safe to say I’ve learned my lesson after that impulsive trip to the salon two years ago. My haircut wasn’t all that bad. I found that it was a huge time saver and when styled appropriately; it looked pretty stylish. But from now on, I’ll stick with the usual long-layered style.

What do you think about the “Pixie” Cut? Be sure to take the poll below!

This entry was posted in: Beauty

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

