Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

D.C Art Feature: Claudia and Sergio Olivos

I’m not going to lie, art is something I never had much interest in. Music, fashion, photography, and film are the only forms art that truly interests me. I guess I never really caught the art bug that all my cosmopolitan friends have been infected with. Maybe it was all the museums I was forced to attend during grade school that brought on my unrequited love for art or maybe it something else entirely. Staring at a portrait of splattered paint for hours and trying to understand the meaning behind it was something I could never do.

That’s not to say that I don’t appreciate the work behind art. Even though I may not fully understand it, I understand having such a strong passion for something you purely love. It wasn’t until a year ago when a friend of mine dragged me along to her boyfriends’ art show that I became fascinated with the whole art scene. After that night I went home and did my homework when it came to art. Familiarizing myself with all the greats such as Monet, Renoir, Matisse, Kandinsky, Pollack, and O’Keeffe.

As I found myself falling head first into this captivating world, I became more intrigued thus strengthening my love for art even more. One night while browsing RAWartists.org, I stumbled upon two newcomers; Claudia and Sergio Olivos. One glance at their work and it’s crystal clear how talented these two are. Claudia originates from Chile while Sergio hales from Mexico and it’s evident to see that their ethnicity plays a huge part in their work. They both love to collaborate and often so in their studio located in D.C.

Most of their pieces consist of gorgeous colors and silhouettes of nature and humanity. The husband and wife have both said that their work is mostly influenced by the universe and everything in it. Their use of beautiful colors are what draws many to their works of art that easily reflect Picasso, Khalo, Tamayo and Varos. Don’t believe me, simply take a look their work and judge for yourself. I’ve already made up my mind and have came to the conclusion that these both are gifted beyond belief.

Washington DC

Retorno A La Semilla, Oil On Canvas, 13000_00

mapuche final

3517579942_ccbae1f906

El Olivo Lloron_ 18x24_ 2005

This entry was posted in: Uncategorized

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

