Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Givenchy Spring 2013 Premeire

When I was 12-years-old I saw a movie that went by the name of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. The moment a well-known actress named Audrey Hepburn (you might have heard of her) stepped onto the screen wearing a little black dress, I fell in love. It wasn’t until a year later when my fashion sense fully kicked in that I discovered the designer behind the gorgeous gown that hung loosely on Audrey. The man behind the creation was non other than Hubert de Givenchy.

He was a well-known player in the game of fashion along with contenders such as Christian Dior, Coco Chanel, and Yves Saint Laurent. Mostly known for creating the “sack” dress and many dresses as well as coats for Jackie O, his work extends further than that. His creations were exquisite as well as daring. He was most definitely not afraid to push the limit when it came to designing which is something I look for in a designer. This is probably why he’s one of my favorite designers to this day.

So it was no surprise that when Paris Fashion Week rolled into town and premiered Givenchy’s 2013 Spring collection that I would fall in love all over again. Daring and exquisite were just among the many words to describe the collection. Whimsical, fresh, and modern would be some others. Menswear played a huge part in the collection with unrestrained silhouettes. Neutrals and billowy fabrics also played a large part as well.

The key ingredient that I found unique was the use of gold-plated collars on the clothing. In my opinion it gave the pieces a very futuristic vibe. Riccardo Tisci, who is the creative director at Givenchy, knocked it out of the park. This man is quickly earning his stripes in the fashion industry and for good reason. Anna Wintour once said she saw numerous amounts of people who could make perfectly nice clothes, but that they didn’t understand how to  differentiate their brand from one another”;this is most certainly not the case for Riccardo Tisci.

Video Credit: Vogue.com

This entry was posted in: Uncategorized

by

I am a journalistic enthusiast, born and bred in Washington, D.C. When I'm not busy meticulously constructing posts, I can be found burying my head in an epic novel, cooking a delicious mess in the kitchen, scouring local thrift stores, and spending way too much time binging on Netflix (Arrested Development anyone?). I cannot live without a good playlist (Billy Holiday is preferred), working wifi (sometimes not always working), and Dunkin Donuts coffee (caramel swirl is my go-to flavor). If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to direct them to the email below. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

